Controversial Corner: Heroin/Drug Overdoses

Rock & Roll Hall of Game

As you may or may not be aware, death by drug overdose has dramatically increased per year across this country. From 20,000 people in 2003 to 60,000 in 2015. Those figures include Herion, prescription drugs, opioids and cocaine. 

Whats your stance on this issue? 

Edited by State of the Game

Folks are depressed trying to stay sane in an insane world so they self medicate and over do it. I found myself getting dangerously close to being addicted to pain pills, but I caught myself before it became a problem. Now I just meditate while they criticize it and burn sage for the liars who print it. -_-

Drugs are evil.

• Upvote 1

It's very sad. I used to be a pharm tech from 2003 to 2011, and I saw the increasing amount of pain medications - CII/Narcotics, no less- being prescribed. It was crazy the back and forth we went through between patients, hospitals, insurance companies, law enforcement, etc. about the questionable prescribing we kept seeing. And when the government woke up to the problem and started putting pressure on doctors and hospitals, a lot of the people who were already hooked switched to heroin as the closest thing they could get. It pains me to see how many people have been affected.. It has also been very telling to me because as an lgbt person of color, I've lost friends to party drugs over the years and seen people thrown in jail indefinitely over pot. And as bad as the response has been with this issue, it's still been WAY more compassionate and better handled because it's hitting middle and upperclass America.

• Upvote 1

Folks are depressed trying to stay sane in an insane world so they self medicate and over do it. I found myself getting dangerously close to being addicted to pain pills, but I caught myself before it became a problem. Now I just meditate while they criticize it and burn sage for the liars who print it. -_-

Drugs are evil.